What cancer taught me

What a busy couple of months it has been!

On 14 June I underwent my fifth and final surgery.  Yayyyyy!  Six weeks later I am feeling good.  I’m not completely healed but I’m feeling better and stronger with each passing week.

Heading into surgery

Just three days after my surgery was Purple Bra Day.  I organised a Breast Cancer Bootcamp fundraiser for this event with the help of my good friend and Personal Trainer, Colin King.  I’m happy to say that it went very well!  We had a great turn out and lots of fantastic prizes were won on the day.  I managed to raise $3,078.74 for Breast Cancer Care WA.  Thank you to each and every one of you who participated on the day and/or made a donation.  I really appreciate it!  As do all the worthy recipients of the funds.  It will make their lives just a little bit easier when faced with a breast cancer diagnosis.

 

Modelling the Purple Bra!

With my good friend and Personal Trainer, Colin King

Bootcamp!

 

A few weeks after the fundraiser I had a call out of the blue from the centre where I had my mammogram and ultrasounds done two years ago.  They asked me to come and collect my films from my procedure.  On reading the accompanying report, I was shocked to read that my mammogram was completely normal and it seemed that my ultrasound was normal too.  They found a slight discrepancy which was ‘probably nothing’ but if my GP wanted to follow it up she should conduct a biopsy.  I was not aware of this information at the time.  When I went to see my GP she just told me that she wanted me to have a biopsy.  Can you imagine what would have happened if she hadn’t been so thorough and followed it up with a biopsy?  The cancer I had was very aggressive.  I was lucky that it was picked up early and hadn’t spread.  If she had not been so diligent I may not be here today…

Around the time I was diagnosed with breast cancer I stumbled across a remarkable woman called Taryn Brumfitt.  Taryn was filming a documentary about women and their bodies.  Given that I was in the midst of an ever changing body – loss of hair, eyelashes, eyebrows, boobs, and a gain of weight due to the chemo drugs I became fascinated with her documentary.  To finance the documentary, Taryn set up a kickstarter fund to which  I donated.  The documentary was two years in the making.  Last week I was lucky to attend the preview screening of the documentary “Embrace” and listen to a Q & A with Taryn.  It echoed everything I had been feeling for the last two years.  If you haven’t seen it I highly recommend you do.  Here is the trailer for the documentary.

 

Last month I was contacted by David Robertson from the website Fitter Healthier Stronger to write a piece about myself and what cancer had taught me.  This is what I submitted.  It is raw and from the heart.  I hope it will help those of you that are faced with a cancer diagnosis or are currently going through treatment.

 

What Cancer Taught Me

Cancer taught me that I am enough. Before I was diagnosed I was always trying to be better. A better mother, a better wife, a better friend, a better version of myself. On reflection, I realise I was already all of those things. I am much more positive and I am more confident in my own skin even though my body does not look like it used to. I’ve embraced the new me.
I’m Nicola, version 2.0. I may not have the same fit body that I used to but the body that I do have has done amazing things for me. It helped me kick cancer’s butt!
I was diagnosed with Stage 3 Triple Negative Breast Cancer in March 2014. I underwent 6 rounds of chemotherapy followed by a double mastectomy with lat dorsi reconstruction. I have just undergone my fifth surgery.
The photo on the left was taken just before heading into surgery for my double mastectomy in October 2014. The photo on the right was taken in March this year when I attended a ball to raise money for research into women’s cancers.
http://www.fitterhealthierstronger.com #FitterHealthierStronger

Throughout my treatment I never let anyone (outside of my immediate family) see me without makeup, a wig or a scarf on my head and now I am baring all! One of the things I have done in the past year is I have embraced my body.  I guess cancer has taught me a lot and that my friends is Just Peachey!

 

 

6 thoughts on “What cancer taught me

  1. Sonia Todaro says:

    It doesn’t matter where I am or what I’m doing I always stop to read your blog! This one is probably one of my favourites. I love your honesty and ability to always see the positive. Thanks for sharing! Xxx

    • Awww thank you Sonia. This one was a tough one when it came around to hitting the “publish” button! I always appreciate your beautiful comments. You are so supportive xxx

  2. I have so much respect for you, love reading your blog, viewing your videos and I especially love how you encourage and inspire so many people who are going through breast cancer and who have survived it!
    You are truly one tough lady with so much strength. Never stop helping others it’s your calling and I appreciate you ! 💗💗💗

Leave a comment